Sun Metro Brio Bus
TTA Outstanding Metropolitan System 2008

TTA Outstanding Metropolitan System 2008

Texas Transit Association Recognizes Sun Metro — Outstanding Metropolitan System

On April 15th, 2008, the Texas Transit Association awarded Sun Metro with the Outstanding Metropolitan System Award, during the 2008 Texas Transit Conference in Waco, Texas, for taking a leadership role in improving public transportation in Texas.

“Sun Metro has improved dramatically over the past year,” said Tim Omick, (former) Sun Metro director. “Winning this prestigious award is a testament to our continued commitment to provide Sun City residents with a first-rate transit system, ensuring them excellence in customer service.”

The Texas Transit Association (TTA) is composed of metropolitan transit authorities, small-urban transit districts and rural-transit districts in the State of Texas as well as associate members of private and public entities from across the nation. The TTA presents awards to the best-of-the-best transit agencies in the state, for the design and implementation of innovative concepts as well as outstanding transportation achievements.

“This tremendous achievement is the result of a team effort and we will continue to work hand-in-hand with our dedicated employees to ensure the basics of transportation,” Omick said. “I would like to thank each and every one of our high caliber employees for their hard work, the City of El Paso for their support, and most of all our community and our riders. They are the true winners.”