Image of TTA 2014 AwardTexas Transit Association Recognizes Sun Metro – Outstanding Metropolitan System

Sun Metro has been named the Outstanding Metropolitan Transit System of the Year by the Texas Transit Association (TTA) for its ongoing efforts to improve public transportation in El Paso.

Texas Transit Association presented the award to Sun Metro during the association’s annual conference in Fort Worth, April 26-28, 2014.

Sun Metro, which has been managed by First Transit since 2006, was first presented with the TTA’s Outstanding Metropolitan Transit System award in April 2008, for taking a leadership role in improving public transportation in Texas.

“We are committed to implementing innovative ways to improve our service and the passenger’s experience,” said Jay Banasiak, Sun Metro director. “Winning this award is a strong testament to our continued commitment to provide El Pasoans and our visitors a first-class transit system, that not only gets our passengers to their destinations in a safe, reliable and professional manner, but one that also helps improve our community’s economic development.”

Since 2009, Sun Metro has completed four new transfer centers; begun renovating two older terminals into state-of-the-art centers; built a new headquarters for the system; developed various public-private partnerships to improve our passengers’ experiences; installed more than 370 new shelters; begun designing an ambitious Transit-Oriented Development for Northeast El Paso with support from a $10.3 million TIGER grant; and broken ground and begun construction on the $145 million Sun Metro Brio—El Paso’s future Bus Rapid Transit System.

“This tremendous achievement is the result of a team effort and we will continue to work hand-in-hand with our dedicated employees to ensure we provide the best service to our community,” Banasiak said. “I would like to thank each and every one of our high quality employees for their hard work, the Mayor and City Council of El Paso for their unending support, and most of all our community and our passengers.”

The Texas Transit Association (TTA) is composed of more than 70 metropolitan transit authorities, small-urban transit districts and rural-transit districts in the State of Texas as well as associate members of private and public entities from across the nation.

The TTA presents awards to the outstanding transit agencies in the state, for the design and implementation of innovative concepts as well as exceptional transportation achievements.